Cote D'Ivoire

Quick Facts

Official Name Republic of Cote d'Ivoire Cote D'Ivoire
Capital Yamoussoukro
Location Western Africa, bordering the North Atlantic Ocean, between Ghana and Liberia
Area total: 322,460 sq km land: 318,000 sq km water: 4,460 sq km
Climate tropical along coast, semiarid in far north; three seasons - warm and dry (November to March), hot and dry (March to May), hot and wet (June to October)
Terrain mostly flat to undulating plains; mountains in northwest
editor picks

Trade Agreements

Cotonou Agreement

no flag availableTuvalu
no flag availableTrinidad And Tobago
no flag availableTonga
no flag availableTimor Leste
no flag availableTanzania, United Republic Of
no flag availableSolomon Islands
no flag availableSamoa
no flag availableSaint Vincent And The Grenadines
no flag availableSaint Lucia
no flag availableSaint Kitts And Nevis
no flag availablePapua New Guinea
no flag availablePalau
no flag availableNiue
no flag availableNauru
no flag availableMicronesia (Federated States Of)
no flag availableMarshall Islands
no flag availableKiribati
no flag availableJamaica
no flag availableHaiti
no flag availableGuyana
no flag availableGrenada
no flag availableFiji
no flag availableDominican Republic
no flag availableDominica
no flag availableCuba
no flag availableCook Islands
no flag availableBelize
no flag availableBarbados
no flag availableBahamas
no flag availableAntigua and Barbuda

The Cotonou Agreement is aimed at the reduction and eventual eradication of poverty while contributing to sustainable development and to the gradual integration of ACP countries into the world economy. The revised Cotonou Agreement is also concerned with the fight against impunity and promotion of criminal justice through the International Criminal Court. The agreement also provides for reciprocal trade agreements, meaning that not only the EU provides duty-free access to its markets for ACP exports, but ACP countries also provide duty-free access to their own markets for EU exports.

view details

editor picks

Trade Organizations

Community of Sahel-Saharan States (CEN-SAD)

CEN-SAD is a Regional Economic community of the Organization of African Unity. The organization looks to implementing a community that comprises of sustained socio-economic development. CEN-SAD looks to free movement of persons, capitals and interests of nationals of members. Right of establishment, ownership and exercise of economic activity. Last, free trade and movement of goods, commodities and services from members.

view details

Organization of African Trade Union Unity

Merger of all All-African Trade Union Federation (AATUF), the African Trade Union Confederation (ATUC), smaller Pan-African Workers' Congress. Consists of four regional organizations.

view details

West Africa Economic and Monetary Union (UEMOA)

UEMOA aims to establish economic integration amongst countries that share a common currency, - the CFA franc. It is both a customs and monetary union between members of ECOWAS. UEMOA seeks to increase economic competitiveness, unify macroeconomic policies, create a common market, coordinate sectoral policies and harmonize fiscal policies.

view details

editor picks

Data Center

Data Center goes here...